Entries for 2018 Edition of Maltina Teacher of the Year Award opens

Maltina, a non-alcoholic malt drink from the portfolio of Nigerian Breweries Plc has flagged-off entries for the 2018 edition of Maltina Teacher of the Year Award.

The beverage brand has encouraged qualified teachers from both public and private schools across the country to apply for the most coveted award for teachers.

According to the brewing company, the award is an initiative of Nigerian Breweries Plc – Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund and is meant to recognize teachers and bring back the dignity in teaching profession in the country. Since its inception in 2015, the award has produced three winners from Anambra (2015), Akwa Ibom (2016) and Delta States (2017).

Speaking at the 2018 flag-off ceremony in Lagos, Head of Department of Education Foundations at the University of Lagos, Prof Ngozi Osarenren maintained that teachers were invaluable drivers of societal norms and the teaching profession must be adored to attract the best and the brightest.

Osarenren noted that if Nigeria must progress from the menace of demotivated, unqualified and incompetent teachers, it must find career long professionals who are willing to do the job for their passion and not because it is the only option available.

The Managing Director of Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mr Jordi Borrut Bel reiterated that the award was not meant for every state but every state that put forward exceptional teachers, adding that the contest will be more intense this year.

The MD, who spoke through the company’s Corporate Affairs Director, Mr Kufre Ekanem, added that the initiative was hinged on the realization that teachers seldom get the recognition they deserve in spite of the important role they play in determining the quality of education.

Entries for the 2018 edition of the programme opened on Friday, 25th of May, 2018 and will close on 2nd of July 2018. Interested teachers are advised to download application forms from the Maltina website – www.maltina-nigeria.com.

The grand prize is N1 million and another N1 million every year for the next five years, a development training opportunity abroad and a block of six classrooms built at the school where the first prize winner teaches.

The first runner-up will receive N1 million and a trophy, while the second runner-up will get N750,000 and a trophy.

In addition, each state champion, including the winner and runner-up will get N500,000 with the top 10 teachers overall being recognized before the grand winners are announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *